Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

August 10, 2020

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at Beaver Dam High School. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Bev Beal-Loeck, Marge Jorgensen, Tony Klatt, John Kraus, Jr., Laura Lerwick, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on July 13, 2020, and the special meeting on August 5, 2020, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Kraus moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Maron, Washington Elementary School Principal and District Wellness Coordinator, reported on the district's Wellness Program activities for 2019-2020. She reviewed the goals, health assessment data, staff incentives, health and wellness events, the wellness policy, smarter lunchroom scorecard, and a timeline for 2020-2021.

Ms. Malkovich, Director of Business Services, reported on the district's cash-flow borrowing needs for 2020-2021. She reviewed the proposals received from two local banks and recommended accepting Horicon Bank's proposal. She presented a resolution to authorize cash flow borrowing not to exceed \$5,000,000 and reviewed the next steps of monitoring cash flow, making timely grant claims, and revisiting cash flow needs for next year.

Beal-Loeck moved, Jorgensen seconded, accept the proposal from Horicon Bank and adopt a resolution authorizing a taxable tax and revenue anticipation promissory note for cash flow purposes in an amount not to exceed \$5,000,000.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Klatt, Kraus, Lerwick, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Beal-Loeck. No-None.

Dr. White, Director of Human Resources, reported on the Title IX regulation changes. She reviewed the notice, publication, recordkeeping, and staff training requirement changes, along with complaint and investigation protocol and Title IX designations. She explained that board policies will be updated and presented to the board for first reading in September. She recommended Jesse Peters and Laura Schieffer as Title IX Coordinators, Robert Meyer and herself as Investigators, Anne-Marie Malkovich as Initial Decision Maker, and Mark DiStefano as Appeal Decision Maker.

Beal-Loeck moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the Title IX designations as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, provided an update on the Return to School plan for 2020-2021. He reported the district will begin the school year in the Option B hybrid model since Dodge County is currently in Phase 2 and clarified the weekly schedule for Option B students. He reviewed the mask/face coverings requirements and shared information about Canvas, the district's new online Learning Management System (LMS), in addition to information on a plan to add supervised community resource locations that will provide technology and food access in the event to district needs to switch to all virtual learning. He reported that handbook language is being reviewed regarding substitute vouchers, and the district is working with the transportation company on safety protocols and the food service provider for meals on virtual days. He explained that activities and athletics will follow guidance from the Department of Health and WIAA.

Board members commended the administration for their work and efforts on the plan.

Tyjeski moved, Lerwick seconded, to move forward with the information available today, subject to changes from the County, with Option B until more information is available.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Board members recognized staff and parents involved with the Return to School plan. They thanked Mr. Meyer for the equity work that is being done in the district, administration for their work on the School Success Plans and District Strategic Actions presented at the workshop, staff and families for their flexibility over the past months and for the future, and Ms. Maron for the Wellness presentation and keeping the wellness focus for staff and students.

Mr. DiStefano recognized new teachers and mentors starting this week. He thanked the board for their questions and insights during the meeting to keep the community informed.

Ms. Beal Loeck, Operations Committee, reported that the committee met on July 27. The committee received updates on the Jefferson Elementary School project, short term borrowing, staffing, and the Title IX changes. The next committee meeting is scheduled for September 28.

Ms. Panzer, Teaching and Learning Committee Chairperson, reported the committee met on July 20. The committee received an update on the English Language Learners (ELL) review and information on the new district Equity Advisory group. The next committee meeting is scheduled for September 21.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in over the past month.

Panzer moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to approve the following resignations and retirements: Zachary Albers-Technology Education-High School (Resignation); Lisa Amport-Special Education Teacher Assistant-High School (Retirement effective 10/18/20); Donna Cigelske-Special Education Teacher Assistant-Jefferson Elementary School (Retirement effective 5/29/20); Julie Giebel-Teacher Assistant-Lincoln Elementary School (Retirement effective 5/29/20); and Sean Stout-Associate Principal-Middle School (Resignation effective 7/31/20).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Anna Brady-Phy. Ed. Teacher-Middle School (Family Leave 11/20/20 - 1/15/21) and Ryan Radig-Grade 3 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Family Leave 10/19/20-11/25/20).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the following appointments: Stephen Guenther-Behavior Interventionist-District; Ethan Jensen-Business Education Teacher-High School; Janessa Schwobe-School Psychologist-High School; and Kyle Twohig-Associate Principal-Middle School.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Klatt, Kraus, Lerwick, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Beal-Loeck, and Jorgensen. No-None.

Jorgensen moved, Beal-Loeck seconded, to adopt board policy 0141.1 – Student Representation at Board Meetings.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #374, #375, #376, and #377) for ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, Health Savings Account, Health Savings Account (District), Fidelity, Franklin, WEA Trust TSA, Payroll Related Voucher, OPEB Trust, District Insurance, and Wisconsin Retirement System for a total of \$5,681,281.46. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Lerwick, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Beal-Loeck, Jorgensen, and Klatt. No-None.

Spielman moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:27 p.m.

/s/ Chad Prieve, President

/s/

Marge Jorgensen, Clerk